Pickled Veggie Sushi

DSC02457

Some people think making sushi is really hard but I promise you it’s pretty easy! Since I stopped eating fish about a year ago I’ve been getting really creative with sushi and I love it. You can pretty much wrap anything in nori, and it tastes delicious.

In these rolls I use my pickled veggies from Toorshi Foods. The pickled veggies are preservative-free, sugar-free and oil-free! You can pick them up at the Toorshi Foods stand every Tuesday at the Farmer’s Market in front of Sick Kids. I love that farmer’s market. It’s such a nice addition to a busy University Ave.

DSC02449

I think I was going for a mediterranean feel with the pickled veggies so I decided to use hummus to bind my quinoa and lentils together. I whipped up a homemade hummus but you can definitely skip that step and use store-bought.

You’ll one of those flexible sushi boards to help you help the wrap. And I made my quinoa in a rice cooker but you can do it on the stove top too. Ok let’s do it!

DSC02454

Pickled Veggie SushiΒ 

Ingredients – serves 2 as a meal; many more as an appetizer!

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1/2 cup lentils
  • 3 1/2 cups water
  • 1 cup chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds
  • salt and pepper
  • 2/3 cucumber, sliced into sticks
  • pickled veggies (or any un-pickled veggies too!)
  • 5-10 nori sheets (or 1 package)

Step 1: Cook the quinoa and lentils with the water. You should do this the day before if you can. I cooked mine in a rice cooker on the “white rice” setting. If you do it on the stove you will probably have to bring everything to a boil, then let it sit for 20ish minutes on low heat.

DSC02446

Step 2: Making the hummus. This is a really simple hummus that doesn’t have garlic or lemon in it because I didn’t want it to overtake the flavour of the sushi. Blend sesame seeds in a high-speed blender separately first, then add chickpeas, salt and pepper, and a little bit of water at a time until it blends smoothly.

DSC02447

Step 3: Mix the hummus into the quinoa and lentils. You want the texture to be sticky but not too saucy. I had leftover hummus at the end.

DSC02448

Step 4: Lay out a nori sheet on the sushi roller. Use a spatula to spread the quinoa and lentils on half of the sheet.

DSC02451

Step 5: Lay a row of your veggies. Don’t pack it too much with veggies or else you won’t be able to roll it!

DSC02453

Step 6: Roll your sushi, giving it a tight squeeze at the end. Use your finger to dab some of the pickle brine at the end of the nori roll. This will help the nori end stick so the sushi stays wrapped up. Since I’m my own camerawoman I couldn’t get a pic of this step 😦

Step 7: Slice the sushi using a sharp serrated knife and enjoy! Don’t forget that presentation is key.

DSC02458

 

Leave a Reply

