Vegan Chick’n Caesar Wraps

DSC02552

DSC02553

I used to eat meat, so sometimes I think back to certain classic meals, like a chicken caesar wrap! I used to think those were healthy but hah… hah… Here’s my step-by-step for a vegan and healthier version of the recipe!

I used two different kinds of vegan chicken for this recipe because I didn’t have enough of either one. My boyfriend really likes fake meat but I prefer beans so I had to add some chickpeas in here too. For flavour, I made a vegan Caesar dressing and sprinkled in some nutritional yeast. Lastly, for that crouton crunch, I used dried garlic! Got this at St. Lawrence market and it tastes exactly like garlicky croutons but is made out of just dehydrated and baked garlic. Yum.

DSC02545

Ingredients – makes 4 wrapsΒ 

  • 4 tortilla wraps, or pitas
  • 1/2 to 1 head of lettuce
  • 3 portions of vegan chicken
  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • Fablunch’s vegan mayonnaise
  • dried basil
  • garlic powder
  • salt and pepper
  • nutritional yeast
  • dried garlic
  • 2 sprigs green onion

Step 1: Make the Caesar dressing! I used Fablunch’s vegan mayonnaise and added dried basil, garlic powder and salt and pepper to make it taste like Caesar dressing and blended it up in my Blendtec. The dressing was pretty liquidy and not thick. This was fine and it still tasted great but if you want a thicker dressing, I recommend trying another mayonnaise recipe with cashews or something!

DSC02544

Step 2: Heat the chicken on a pan on medium-high heat. You just have to heat it until it’s warm. If the chicken comes in breast-form, then rip them into bite-sized pieces. Add salt and pepper or other seasoning to your taste.

DSC02548

Step 3: Drain and rinse a can of chickpeas.

DSC02549

Step 4: Wash and roughly chop your lettuce.

DSC02543

Step 5: Roughly dice the spring onion.

DSC02546

Step 6: Assemble!

DSC02550

I had the leftovers as a salad for lunch the next day and it equally as delicious. Hope you enjoy!

DSC02551

Lizzy

Leave a Reply

